Thanks for all the fish!

19 06 2009

For those of you amongst the three possible regular readers I think I have who may have been wondering what the “thing” I’ve been alluding to in my Pharma is your Phriend series, with comments of “only a month to go”, you may have guessed it. I have resigned from my job in medical communications. My official last day is Thursday next week.

Yes, that’s right. For all my apologetics over the past month, I’ve had enough and am packing my bags.  So seven days to go. It has come along quite quickly.

I’m not going to go into much detail about “why?” – some of my international co-workers read this blog occasionally, and I think I’ve learned my lesson about slagging off work online from Japan. I think it’s fair to say, this time I am quite prepared to admit this is “me” problem, much more than is a “them” one. Mostly I was way too overambitious when it came to assessing my own ability to adjust to a major life change, just weeks after I’d gone through it all to get settled in Brisbane. I had managed to score a reasonable jackpot the first time, so why not go double or nothing…

So what’s next? I’m going back to study – Graduate Diploma of Education at QUT in Brisbane. This has been a very long time coming. Everytime I’ve hit a crossroads on what to do with the future it has come back to youth work and education.

When I try to remember what I used to want to be when I grow up, I think in grade 3 I wanted to be either an astronaut or a teacher (I had a great grade 3 teacher, sadly, I only remember his last name started with B).

When I wanted to get out of sitting through boring storytime with questionable morals at church, I taught Sunday School (at least my storytimes weren’t boring, and had glitter).

When I decided to study science at university with absolutely no intention of really following up and getting into medical school, I knew I could always do a GDipEd.

When I was looking for opportunities to get the hell away from my mother and experience the world, teaching abroad seemed an ideal option.

And so… let the story continue…

Image credit: Panic and run away by cole007 CC by A.NC.ND

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 06 2009
A Free Man

I thought about doing the same thing, but don’t know if I can cope with teaching secondary or primary school. I guess if the uni teaching dries up I can always keep it open as an option. Good luck!

22 06 2009
A Free Man

Nice titular reference, by the way.

Leave a Reply

