Anna Rexiosis

7 10 2008

No one is going understand that. So don’t even try.

“I was never anorexic, so I was never that skinny… I was never bony-bony. But I remember thinking, ‘I don’t want to be this skinny.’” – Kate Moss to Interview, emphasis not in source (celebrityfix)

While Kate Moss may not have had a weight-conscious psychological disorder, she may still have been anorexic. Anorexia is a medical term for loss of appetite, no matter the underlying cause. And its generally not any less healthy if its brought on by stress, drugs or religious motivation.

As a skinny guy in the fattest country in the world (America does appear to be taking measures to regain its crown), I have to live with the occasional anorexia joke.

Now, I’m like Kate Moss*, in that I’d avidly deny being an “anorexic”, in that I certainly don’t try to lose weight because I think I look fat. But that doesn’t mean I can ignore the issue.

Getting sick can cause loss of appetite, and this can be a worry when you are skinny. In Japan I twice fell below my desirable BMI thanks to food sickness, and later influenza B. This really isn’t good, because this is a time when energy stores actually come in handy.

Another risk factor, along with stress, is depression. This is a pretty big thing. Sufferers of anorexia nervosa might get over their psychological issues, but still remain depressed – for one they might realise they are no longer fat, but also not really feel pretty with the skeletal giraffe look – as “not eating” is a familiar coping mechanism, they just fall back into the previous viscious cycle with new reasoning.

Just before I moved to Brisbane two months ago, I had let my weight dwindle down to 59 kg. This was a combination of being depressed, catassing, stress and slowly running out money to buy food. It was also put my BMI down at best 19 – healthy range is above 20 – so I was not impressed, I’d managed keep in a healthy weight range since returning from Japan. Now I’m back up to a relatively healthy 64 kg (BMI = 21). Hooray! I solved most of the problems that had been causing distractions to healthy eating, so hopefully we can keep that weight gain trend going and then work on actually building that into mussels.

[Yes, I am aware I am being a pendantic dick about Kate Moss, but at least I don’t snort chalk dust]

*do not often get the chance to say that…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

