Does nobody know the internet anymore?

4 07 2008

via erv

I’m with her, wasn’t this sort of obvious. What else is the internet made for?

I can understand someone like Ignoramus MD, Dr Michael Egnor, being unaware of the nature of the intertubes, but EA – come on, there is some expectation this is within your sphere of expertise.

Spore is THE GAME to come out for god-genre fans. If I can’t get an intel processor by September (Australia release date) I will be seriously contemplating an ebay auction for my spare kidney.

I did think their rating of “E” might be a bit light, for a biology/society game that will obviously have some elements of both war and sex thrown in there.

It also highlights a problem that will always arise with freely shared user-made content. EA is presented with the option of either censoring innapropriate content, or accepting liability for minors accessing content. I think the compromise of a user-checks system, that has been shown to work moderately well with sites such as YouTube is probably the easiest option without restricting user gameplay.

Yes some content won’t be flagged, and yes some flags will be placed on content that don’t deserve it. But as I understand it Spore will have some sort of random monster generator. I think that some creationist gamers (or gamer parents) will now get an education in what “massively parallel” random events can achieve (quote mining John Wilkins from here, better explanation of concept available at Talk.origins FAQ). I mean, what are the chances of Spore programming producing a giant dildo-mon by chance?

Image credit: Original caption, photo from Flickr *Gasp Shock* by wednesday181 cc-sa
Actions

Information

4 responses

5 07 2008
Pages tagged "biology"

[…] bookmarks tagged biology Does nobody know the internet anymore? saved by 1 others     WishingLampPro bookmarked on 07/04/08 | […]

6 07 2008
ERV

Why not just have parental controls, too? Set your kids SPORE on ‘E’, and she cant visit a penis planet. I can leave my controls off and set off a War of the Penii if I want.

I really hate censoring…

6 07 2008
zayzayem

The only problem I have with parental controls is that parents are sometimes not tech savvy enough to use them.

Warcraft has an anti-catassing parental control system, but I don’t think many parents are aware it exists.

I was talking to a friend’s mum who was worried about the younger brother (senior in high school) spending too much time on wow instead of studying. She wished there was a way she could restrict his usage. I told her there was, and tried to explain it to her. All my friends then gave me crap for trying to help the enemy.

8 07 2008
zayzayem.zz ? « It’s Alive!!

[…] 8 07 2008 Everything you ever knew about the internet has indeed gone awry. Maybe it is all just a bunch of tubes connecting trucks full of kittens and […]

Leave a Reply

